Skip to main content
Record a patient as deceased in Cliniko

How to handle patient files when a patient passes away.

Rachel Harkness avatar
Written by Rachel Harkness
Updated over a week ago

When a patient passes away, it's important to update their records respectfully and appropriately. While Cliniko doesn't have a specific "Deceased" flag, you can follow these steps to indicate that a patient has passed away.


Update patient name

To denote that a patient has passed, one option is to adjust their name:

Screenshot of the patient details page. The patient is Mrs. Luna Moon [DECEASED].

The updated name will appear across your account, including the patient list, any appointments this patient had, "official" documents (such as invoices and treatment notes), and anywhere that there might be communication with the patient—for example, letters or invoice emails that use the last name placeholder.

If you prefer to leave the patient's name unaltered, consider using the extra information field, the medical alerts section, or custom patient fields.

To modify the patient's name, select the patient you're looking for, and edit their details:

Screenshot of the patient details page with the last name field highlighted.

Within the Last name field add “[DECEASED]” or any label that would help you or your team identity the decedent:

Screenshot of the patient details page with the last name field highlighted.

Once you Save, the name displayed on the patient's details page will immediately update.


Archive the patient

To prevent the patient from appearing in active lists or sent communications, you'll want to archive their record.

It's crucial to only archive the patient and not delete them. If you archive the records, the patient records will still be stored and accessible in your Cliniko account.

To archive a patient, select the patient you're looking for, and use the Archive button on their file:

Screenshot of the patient details page with the archive button highlighted.

You'll then see the date/time that the patient was archived, as well as the ability to make them active again:

Screenshot of the patient details page with make them active again highlighted.

View archived patients

To view archived records in the Patients list, tick "Show archived". An archived patent will show up as grey in the patient list:

Screenshot of the patients list with archived patients highlighted.

If you need to review their details, just select their name—and if you need to unarchive them for any reason, select Make them active again:

Screenshot of the patient details page with make them active again highlighted.

You can also edit archived patients if you need to update or add additional details in the future.


Custom patient fields

While certain patient fields like the extra information field and medical alerts section on the patient's file can be used to store details of the deceased, you might also consider adding custom fields.

Use custom patient fields to track any additional details that would help with your records. For example, adding the reason why their record was archived, next of kin, deceased date, etc.

If you want to create additional fields to add to the patient details page, have an Administrator or Power receptionist head to Settings, and then select Custom patient fields:

From here, if no custom patient fields have been added previously you'll want to click "create one":

Within each section, you can add as many custom fields as needed. Once you've added your fields, make sure to Save your changes.

The next time you edit your patient, you'll now see the custom fields appear:

If you ever export your patients, these fields will also be included.


For further assistance reach out to our support team for guidance.

Did this answer your question?