Each user can be assigned a role according to what level of access they need to have. Cliniko has six different roles to choose from:

When you add a new user to your Cliniko account, you'll be able to set them up with one of these roles (and you can change their role at any time, as well). Users will show up in your Cliniko account in the Users & practitioners settings, where you can see their name, their role, and whether or not they're a Practitioner:

Let's go through the specifics of each user security role! 

Scheduler

A Scheduler is the most basic role that Cliniko offers. This role is designed to perform a very limited number of functions, and can only access a select few areas of Cliniko. If you've hired a virtual receptionist for the sole purpose of booking appointments, the Scheduler role might be a good fit! 📆 Here's what Schedulers can do:

  • Book, view, modify, cancel, or delete appointments.
  • View basic patient details.
  • Create new patients and modify existing ones;
  • Send SMS messages to patients.
  • See all messages and comments on the Dashboard, and post/modify/delete their own messages and comments;
  • View and modify their own user details.
  • View the following reports: Appointments schedule (daily and weekly), and Missed appointments. 

A Scheduler will never be able to see any of your financials or confidential patient details, such as treatment notes.

Receptionist

The Receptionist role is well-suited for that user who handles all things "front desk"—booking appointments, issuing invoices and recording payments, and checking up on appointment schedule or payment reports! 📝 This role can do everything the Scheduler can do, as well as:

  • Create new invoices and payments, and view existing invoices and payments.
  • Create, view, and modify products (including adjusting the stock level).
  • Create expenses, and view only their own expenses (not expenses created by any other user).
  • Archive (and un-archive) patients.
  • Create, view, and modify their own letters (but this can be modified if you'd like).
  • Upload and view a list of file attachments (but not the actual attachment—this can be modified, though);
  • Create, view, and edit contacts.
  • View the Communications log for patients.
  • View the following reports: Daily payments, Outstanding invoices, Upcoming birthdays, and Patients without upcoming appointments.

Power Receptionist

The Power Receptionist has all the same permissions as a Receptionist, but with a little more oomph added in! ✨ A user with this role is kind of like an Administrator, but without some of the main "admin" permissions (i.e. they can't see a patient's medical information, add users, or export data). But, they can do a bit more than a regular Receptionist, and help the Administrator out with some of the "behind-the-scenes" stuff! Here's what a Power Receptionist can do:

  • Modify and delete any messages on the Dashboard.
  • Delete patients.
  • Modify and delete file attachments.
  • Modify and delete invoices and payments;
  • Delete products.
  • Delete contacts.
  • View, modify, and delete all expenses.
  • View the following reports: Payment summary, Expenses, and Marketing reports.
  • Manage everything in the Settings area except for adding new users and exporting data.

Practitioner

A Practitioner is classified as anyone who sees patients, so this role allows for access to patients' medical details (such as medical alerts and treatment notes). 📈 Practitioners can do everything that Receptionists can (with one exception: they have access to some different reports). They also have the following permissions:

  • View, create, modify, and delete medical alerts.
  • Create and view treatment notes (they can view either just ones they author, or all notes—this can be configured in General settings).
  • Modify only their own treatment notes, if they are still in draft mode.
  • View and modify all letters (but if you want to restrict them to only letters that they have authored, you can set this up in General settings).
  • Modify and delete file attachments that only they have uploaded.
  • View the following reports: Appointments schedule, Missed appointments, Daily payments, and their own Practitioner revenue reports. A Practitioner cannot view revenue reports for anyone other than themselves.

Bookkeeper

The Bookkeeper role is designed for users that manage financial information within Cliniko. 📊 Generally speaking, this role is typically given to someone who would not have anything to do directly with patients—purely the financials! This means that someone with the Bookkeeper role cannot directly view any patient details (although they can view their invoices and payments). Here's what a Bookkeeper can do:

  • See all messages and comments on the Dashboard, and post/modify/delete their own messages and comments.
  • View and modify their own user details.
  • Manage all aspects of expenses, invoices, payments, and products.
  • View the following reports: Daily payments, Payment summary, Outstanding invoices, Expenses, Practice revenue, and Practitioner revenue reports.
  • Set up billable items, payment types, and taxes.
  • Export the following data: products, invoices, payments, and expenses.

Administrator

Administrators have got the power! 👑 This role can do everything within Cliniko's suite of functions, and is designed for the practice manager in your life. Administrators can perform the same actions as every other type of user, as well as a couple very notable ones that are unique only to them:

  • Add and modify other users.
  • Export all data.
  • Delete data.
  • Change the subscription or cancel/re-activate a Cliniko account.

It's important to keep in mind that anyone who's listed as an Administrator will be able to do everything that Cliniko has to offer. We recommend that you don't equip just anyone with this role (in fact, it's best if only the practice manager is the one and only Administrator!). If you need to grant someone with many of the "admin" settings, but you are the Administrator, consider adding them as a Power Receptionist.

In the event that you need to restrict someone's access to Cliniko, you can downgrade their security role or make them inactive

Did this answer your question?