What is double opt-in?
Double opt-in is a setting within your Mailchimp account that will let your patients ("subscribers") confirm if they do or do not wish to receive marketing emails from you!
If you have integrated with Mailchimp, your patients are added to your audience as subscribers—meaning you that they will automatically receive marketing emails from you, via Mailchimp.
If you choose to enable double opt-in, patients will not automatically be added as subscribers. Instead, they'll receive an initial "opt-in email" asking them to confirm their subscription.
Here's an example of what the patient would see in their inbox:
Double opt-in is handy for obtaining consent for marketing emails, and confirming that the patient's email is valid!
☝️Note: You will need to set this up within your Mailchimp account.
Mailchimp has their set of instructions for enabling opt-in settings here, but we'll also walk you through the step below!
Of course, if you fancy video over text, then do we have a treat for you!
☝️Note: Mailchimp's internal design has changed since the above video was made. While the video displays Mailchimp's old design, the process is still very similar, and the guide below includes updated screenshots as of October 14th, 2020.
Setting your audience to double opt-in within Mailchimp
To get started, log into your Mailchimp account. From the home page, select View audiences:
Select your audience (if you have multiples, be sure you select the audience that is linked to your Cliniko account):
Then, under Settings, select Audience name and defaults:
Under Form settings, tick the box next to Enable double opt-in:
Finally, be sure to save your settings:
☝️Note: By default, when you enable double opt-in, Mailchimp will also enable reCAPTCHA, which adds an additional verification step for your patient (think of any email you might have gotten that asks you to confirm you're not a robot—it's like that!). You can disable that if you'd like.
🙌 That's it! You've now enabled double opt-in, and when a new patient is added to your audience via the integration, they will not be added as a subscriber until they confirm their subscription with you.